gettin’ fit

So! My sister is getting married in September and I am the maid of honor. YAY!

I am so, so excited to be a part of their wedding and am trying to be as big of a help as I can. I listen while she talks through ideas and offer up (a few) suggestions. I’m lucky though, my sister is the opposite of bridezilla. She’s calm, knows what she wants, and is taking it one step at a time.

Besides all the fun planning and doing, it just occurred to me over the weekend that I should probably consider getting into SHAPE for this wedding! I mean, the pictures are going to be hung up and everyone is going to see them forever and ever sooooo that arm flab? It’s gotta go.

The problem with this is that I’m a fair weather exerciser. When I’m on it, I’m ON it. When I’m not… I’m so not. I’ve decided that my first step will be to simply TAKE a step. Walking/jogging. I used to do the C25K plan and then stopped in week 6 (you know, when it gets hard). I’m considering starting that again, but for right now, I’m going to start with power walking. (Or um, simply walking at all)

Last night I did what I consider to be the craziest thing evarrrr… I walked home from work! Seriously people. I walked. It was a spur of the moment thing and it felt great. Next time I’ll definitely change my shoes (I wore flats, like the smartie that I am). I walked exactly 4.14 miles in 53 minutes. That’s 12:47 min/mile! *Pats self on back*

I would like to lose a couple of pounds before the wedding… nothing too crazy. Mostly I’d like to tone up a bit. I have weights at home so if you have any tried-and-true exercises, let me know!! 

Leave a Reply

