saw it. pinned it. did it! – at home gel mani

**Today I’m linking up with Stephanie for Saw it. Pinned it. Did it. Link up every Thursday!**

A few weeks ago I went in search of someplace I could get a manicure at a salon that didn’t cost me an entire days wages. Would you believe it that I found someplace a quarter of a mile from my office! I can get a really good mani for $12… TWELVE DOLLARS! Seriously ladies, amazing!!

Obviously I’m a fan of the pro mani, but I’m also a fan of at home spa nights. Which is where this lovely pin comes in! My sister pinned it for me. Ilovethismani! It’s an at home gel manicure without the extra coats of whatever it is and the creepy light that they use in salons. I’ve done this at home mani twice now and I can’t see myself going to a salon anytime soon. The best part is that you can use your own nail polish – you don’t have to buy special gel colors!

How’s it done?

One. Use nail polish remover to remove any old nail polish and to gently clean nails. Then wash hands with soap and water.

Two. File/shape nails.

Three. Use a nail buffer block. Simply follow the directions that come with it. It’s easy. Sometimes if I want to let my nails breathe for a bit I’ll take off the color and buff my nails. You’d be surprised at how pretty and shiny they can get with this.

Four. Apply two thin coats of the Gelous Nail Gel to your nails.

Five. Apply one thin coat of your color.

Six. Apply one thin coat of Gelous Nail Gel.

Seven. Apply one thin coat of your color.

Eight. Finish by applying one coat of your favorite top coat.

**NOTE: It is recommended that you allow for each layer to dry for a few minutes before adding the next layer – FOLLOW THIS. Don’t paint another coat too quickly or it will smudge. Nobody likes smudges.**

VOILA!! Your own GEL MANI at HOME!!

I have a hard time keeping one color on my nails for very long, so unfortunately I don’t know exactly how long it’ll last on my nails. BUT I can say that I had it on for 6 days and there wasn’t a single chipNot one!

I’ve found that drying time is a bit longer than simply painting your nails because there are so many layers. So I recommend first … go pee. We’ve all been there. Don’t be the girl that has to pee 51 seconds after finishing your nails. ha! After that I recommend pouring yourself a larger than usual glass of wine and watching the bachelorette while doing your nails.

To remove the polish, simply put some acetone on a cotton ball and wipe away. If you’ve never used acetone before (I hadn’t until I tried this), but it works amazingly well.

Happy nail painting! If you try this, let me know! I’d love to see your pictures 🙂 And don’t forget to link up!

4 thoughts on “saw it. pinned it. did it! – at home gel mani

Leave a Reply

