Back to the basics

As I mentioned in my last post, I started this blog as a way for me to document my spending/saving/debt repayment and it quickly strayed from that. I do want to get back to that a little bit more though.

About 2 months ago I started a job that came with a fairly significant salary increase(!), which has helped me be able to budget and figure out my finances in a real way.  When there is hardly enough money in the bank to pay for bills/rent/necessities it’s not fun to budget, it all looks so sad. So about a month ago I set up a budget. I real, true budget. It felt so good! I was finally making enough money to be able to put money into savings, put extra towards my debts, and generally feel much better about where I’m heading.

Even as early as a couple of months ago I was really nervous about June because I have some pretty big things coming up: 2 out of town weddings and a graduation. These were three things I wouldn’t have been able to afford before and I wanted to be sure I was smart about where my money went in the months leading up to June so I wouldn’t be blindsided and not have enough and have to use a credit card. (Just say no to credit!)

I have absolutely made some mistakes since starting this whole thing, but I can tell you that I feel much more in control of my life, and that makes me much happier. I’m able to say no to some things because I’ve already planned out some really fun things. Also, when something fun randomly pops up, I’m able to know whether I can truly afford it … and if it looks tight I’m able to look and see if I can take it from another area (such as fuel).

So! Here we go. I’m back on track and getting back to the basics of what this blog was meant to be. I have some pretty epic wanderlust, so I want this debt gone ASAP! Ireland… Florida… Italy… the world awaits!

Leave a Reply

